Chile to the rescue

I like to make Chile. I found a decent chile recipe in a very cheap cookbook years ago that I continue to modify and adapt.

I find chile is a great dish for eating during football games or during sporting events.

The chile is fairly easy to make. One thing about chile is that the longer you allow the chile to simmer, the more the flavors from the peppers soak in. It is not something you should necessarily rush.

With the Vikings-Jet’s game tomorrow, I’ll share the recipe I use with you. (I made my chile today, but my guess is I will have some left over for tomorrow. The chile usually tastes hotter on the second day anyway).

Here is the recipe.

Chile

Ingredients:

3 Tablespoons Olive Oil
2 Medium chopped onions
4 cloves chopped garlic
1 pounds Ground Turkey
2 1/2 Tablespoons Chili Powder
1 Tablespoon Dried Ground Oregano
1 Tablespoon Cumin
1 Teaspoon of Chipolte
1 Teaspoon Worcester Sauce
2-3 Serrano Peppers (Chopped)
2 Habenero peppers (Chopped)
1 Medium Chopped Green Bell Pepper
1 Can (14 1/2 Oz) Reduced Sodium or no salt Chicken Broth
1 Can (14 1/2 Oz) Ready Cuty Tomatoes (Diced) no salt added
1 12 oz bottle of beer
2 Tablespoons White Corn Meal
2 15 oz cans of Kidney beans (light and dark red)

Instructions

Heat Oil
Add Onion and Garlic, simmer until brown.

Add Turkey, cook until brown.

Add Chili Powder, Cumin, and Oregano – 1 minute

Add Chipotle Worcestor Sauce, Pepper, Chicken Broth,
Tomato, beer and cornmeal- mix well.

Reduce Heat to low and cover for 20-25 minutes (or until
juice thickens).

Add beans and cook on low for 10-15 minutes.

Notes:

In preparing the chile, I usually start by dicing the onions.

I also dice the green pepper, removing the seeds and core. I do the same with the habeneros and serrano peppers. Be careful handling habenero and serrano peppers. When handling habeneros and serrano peppers, you must exerise care to minimize contact with the peppers. Some people may want to wear gloves. I usually just wash my hands thoroughly after handling the peppers. Do not dice the peppers before dicing the onions. If your eyes tear up while dicing the onions, you do not want to expose them to the peppers.

The only other serious work is in cleaning the kidney beans. I wash them under water until there are no more bubbles.
You can use either whole chipotles that you find in a can at the store or you can use the chipotle sauce. The chipotle sauce has the advantage of storing easily in the refrigerator and you do not need to dice or clean the chipotles. I do not mind dicing chipotles, but the storage is much harder.

It is also possible to add more turkey. The original recipe called for 2lbs. I find 1lb is enough.

5 Responses to “Chile to the rescue”

  1. Is there some angle toward saving Dollhouse here?

  2. That looks damn good. Forget dollhouse. Open a roadhouse.

  3. This Chile would be good to feed people doing outreach to save Dollhouse. Did you ever make this at Branch 3?

  4. The grateful people of Chile thank you for this recipe.

Leave a Reply

