About last night.

I spent the night at Safe Bay last night. The night went better than expected but there was no shortage of homeless drama. There was an unfortunate incident in which one homeless person complained to staff about the stench emanating another homeless individual. (Again, it is not surprising people do not want to shower at Safe Bay). Staff intervened. Under such circumstances, the policy is apparently to require the individual to shower.

The shelter was still very crowded. It is two days past project homeless connect and the floor mats seem very crowded. I am surprised more people are not camping out.

Dinner was served at 6 pm, but I missd it. There are no “save” plates at Safe Bay, so if you miss dinner, you are out of luck.

You can get a blanket if you leave some form of id with them, but I opted to sleep on my coats instead. I have two winter coats which I am carrying around for just such situations.

It was very crowded at SafeBay. I arrived late enough not to have to stand too long in the line where they randomly search all of the bags. However, by the time I got past the security checkpoint, I had to stand for quite a while in the line to get an assigned mat.

After getting mat #37, I settled my things in. There was the usual commotion going on around me. Early in the night, there was the typical monologue to no one. This is the type of speech people seem to give to no one in particular. One homeless gentleman spent about fifteen minutes just expressing himself while others tried to shut him up.

Eventually, it gets a bit quieter. There are fewer discussions. I’m sleeping with all of my things on my mattress. I arrange it so that a backpack is stuffed full of clothes to create a makeshift pillow.

I get some sleep, awoken by the occasional disturbance or sound of a snoring neighbor. With so many people, there are bound to be sleep disturbances. Morning comes and I change into some clean clothes. I head over the bathroom to brush my teeth, but the bathroom is extremely crowded. One of the sinks is broken, leaving us with only two functional sinks. Of the two remaining sinks, one of the sinks is missing its handle making it difficult to operate. The conditions create tensions in the bathroom as people are noticeably edgier than they should be.

After brushing my teeth, I take my three packed bags and head over to the main lobby of Harbor Lights to eat breakfast (choice of a bowl of grits, a bowl of oatmeal or a bowl of cereal). I arrive at 6:20 a.m. which gives me only ten minutes to eat. I opt for the oatmeal. I’ve never liked the grits. One small bowl of cereal is hardly enough. The two volunteers serving food seem exhausted and the line moves very slowly. Eventually, I get a bowl of oatmeal with five minutes to eat it. Mandatory exit is at 6:30 a.m. and I leave accordingly.

After that, I depart for the Skyways. It is much to early to go anywhere. I spend an hour just lounging around and talking to another homeless person.

Carrying so many things around, I try to find simple destinations to hang out. I will not be mobile again until I find the occassion to store some of my things. Finally, I work my way over to the Hennepin County Government Center to go to the law library.

In the meantime, I need help saving Dollhouse. While I am sleeping in a homeless shelter and trying to conduct outreach to save the show, all that I am asking people is to sign some petitions, send some emails and to tell people about the efforts to save the show.

Please tell your friends (through Facebook, MySpace, Bebo, Twitter) about the efforts to save the show.

Here are the links to save the show:


Save Dollhouse by signing the TNT petition online to save Dollhouse.


Save Dollhouse by sending TNT EMAILS to save Dollhouse.

The twitition to save Dollhouse is here!

One Response to “About last night.”

  1. Glad it wasn’t that bad. Hope things get better for you. Save dollhouse.

Leave a Reply

