Gaming updates- Homeless gamers

Today, we saw some real progress at Branch 3 of Catholic charities on the GAMING front. (Branch 3 services many homeless and low income people). One of the clients brought at PS3 from home and let everyone play Madden 10. Electronic Arts flagship product and cash cow lands at Branch 3 just in time for the Vikings playoffs.

Madden 10 arrives before the Vikings game on Sunday!

(As an aside, my background in gaming conditions is deficient in the Madden area. I spent much more time playing FPS games on the PC- such as Battlefield 2142, CSS, TF2, BF:H. I do own a Wii, but it is in Nevada. Most people know me at MNtoothpick from 1541K, which focuses on Battlefield 2142.)

Many people signed up to play including myself. I played Minnesota Vikings (of course), but was routed. Need to get some more experience in with the game.

I should say that Madden 10 gave the Vikings a low rating. Was surprised when my QB was Jackson.

Here are some photos of people engaged in some healthy gaming at Branch 3:

Playing Madden 10 at Branch 3

As I explained in earlier posts, many people who receive services at these sights are gamers.

There was some talk of creating a tournament, but no one is sure what the prize would be. Probably need to bracket for skill level so that noobs have a chance to advance and learn the game at first.

The NPD data suggests December was a great month for Video Gaming, but overall, the industry is still off it’s peak year.

8 Responses to “Gaming updates- Homeless gamers”

  1. This is a funny article. It’s good to know that the homeless are playing ps3 lol.

  2. American homeless people are fat and play madden. This is what people claim “poor” is.

    • Well it is important to have healthy breaks from a situation that for many people is not fun. I am glad that people can take a break from an otherwise stressful situation. Shouldn’t everyone be allowed to have some fun?

  3. […] Recently, I was confronted by a staff/volunteer at Branch 1 of Catholic charities who prevented me from distributing my fliers to save a television show. I will not reiterate the entire story as you can read the background here. In short, I tried to take the staff/volunteers picture. I was told that I could not take photographs inside the shelter. The next day at Branch 3 of Catholic Charities, I tried to take photographs of people playing Madden 2010 on a Playstation 3 for a second time at Branch 3 and was again told no. READ ABOUT HOMELESS GAMERS HERE. […]

  4. Good and relevant post.I have

  5. […] Recently, I was confronted by a staff/volunteer at Branch 1 of Catholic charities who prevented me from distributing my fliers to save a television show. I will not reiterate the entire story as you can read the background here. In short, I tried to take the staff/volunteers picture. I was told that I could not take photographs inside the shelter. The next day at Branch 3 of Catholic Charities, I tried to take photographs of people playing Madden 2010 on a Playstation 3 for a second time at Branch 3 and was again told no. READ ABOUT HOMELESS GAMERS HERE. […]

  6. […] Of course, I featured the article on homeless/low income gamers playing Madden 2010 on a PS3, but that has been the last serious opportunity I have had to do gaming. READ ABOUT HOMELESS GAMERS HERE. […]

  7. […] The next day at Branch 3 of Catholic Charities, I tried to take photographs of people playing Madden 2010 on a Playstation 3 for a second time at Branch 3 and was again told no. READ ABOUT HOMELESS GAMERS HERE. […]

Leave a Reply

