Holiday Experience

Overall, my Holiday was very good and I feel very fortunate. I have plenty to eat and a warm place to stay. All is not perfect, but I am getting by. I’m sure there are plenty of people who have it much worse than me.

As expected, I could not get access to the internet during the Christmas break. I do not have a laptop, so I cannot connect to any Wi-fi. Many of the shelters, such as St. Stephens, are looking for computer donations so that people can access the internet.

This Christmas was my strangest Christmas ever. Overall, it started like any other day. I tried to attend a few of the events I listed, but ended up mostly at the basement at St. Stephen’s school.

For the whole week, food was fairly good. At Simpson we ate Pizza Hut Pizza on Tuesday. On Christmas Eve, we had an excellent steak dinner (provided by no-name steaks) complete with delicious appetizers provided by the First Unitarian Church. They also provided us with hand knitted hats.

Gifts were pretty mixed. At Simpson, we received a $5 gift card to McDonalds. Someone lost theirs, so I gave mine away. I still have $2 from the last McDonalds gift certificate. We also received a $40 Target gift card, 2 pair of socks, and some other amenities. At the St. Stephens events (school basement), there was plenty to take for everyone. People could get scarves, coats, gloves, clothing, socks, paper, playing cards, and pretty much everything they wanted. I took some playing cards. They played movies all day.

I also scored some free TIMBERWOLVES TICKETS. It will take a bit of work, but I should be able to see the game tonight against the WIZARDS! (Most people don’t know, but we have some fairly specific check in times that require us to be at shelters early. The game is post check in time, so it will require a late check in.) Still very nice gift!

A slight mix up at St. Stephen’s meant that the Famous Dave’s Christmas dinner was replaced by Chili. Apparently the Famous Dave’s dinner was the night before- but it was very good. I found that the 2-1-1 information I was given was SKETCHY and somewhat unreliable. Unfortunate, but mostly an inconvenience.

I ended the night by playing a game of rumicube with a shelter volunteer. The shelter was playing Serenity (for Whedon fans)! TY.

Overall, a busy day. Met some very nice people and had some great conversations. I hope everyone had a great Christmas as well.

2 Responses to “Holiday Experience”

  1. i am wondering about some free tickets to the game myself. I would really like that. i think this should be very interesting.

Leave a Reply

